Roles

    Use the navigation on the left side to navigate to the Roles page.

    Roles_1.jpg

    Depending on your Role and your permissions (set on this page), you will have a different level of access.

    1. Instructions for Admins viewing the Roles page.

    Admins cannot edit their own Role. Their permissions are set to the highest level for each Role function, and they cannot be changed.

    • Admins can edit permissions for any other role. 
    • Setting a permission level to "Add/Update" means the user will have full access to that function.
      • For example, giving a Supervisor "Add/Update to Time Clocks means they can both add new clocks, and edit existing clocks.
    • In addition to the permission level, some functions need to have a "scope" set. This means that in addition to the permission level you set, you will also need to set to what degree they can use the permissions you set. You can decide whether they have, for example, Add/Update access to all people (all) in the account, just people in their responsible departments (departments), or just themselves (me). You can set the scope for the permission level by clicking the three dots on the right side of the cards that require it.
      • Example: 
        Roles_2.png
        Giving a supervisor View Only access to People means they will only have access to View other people in the system, but they will not be able to edit them. You can change the permission to Add/Update or No Access as well.
          Roles_3.png
        By default, supervisors will have View Only access to people just within their departments. You can change that by clicking the three dots on the right hand side of the card. If you select All, the Supervisor will have View Only access to every person in the system. If you select "Me" that means the supervisor will only have access to view their own information.

    Roles_4.jpg

    2. Instructions for supervisors viewing the Roles page.

    • Supervisors will not see Admin's settings, and they will not be able to edit their own Role (supervisor). If they were given "Add/Edit" permissions for the Roles page from the admin, they will be able to edit Employee permissions. Below is the Roles page that a Supervisor with "Add/Update" permissions for Roles would see. If the Supervisor had "View Only" permissions for Roles, all cards would be gray and uneditable.

    Roles_5.jpg

    • Assuming the Supervisor has "View/Add" permissions for Roles, the instructions for updating permissions are the same.
      • Setting a permission level to "Add/Update" means the employee will have full access to that function.
        • For example, giving an Employee "Add/Update to Time Clocks means they can both add new clocks, and edit existing clocks.
        • In addition to the permission level, some functions need to have a "scope" set. This means that in addition to the permission level you set, you will also need to set to what degree they can use the permissions you set. You can decide whether they have, for example, Add/Update access to all people (all) in the account, just people in their responsible departments (departments), or just themselves (me). You can set the scope for the permission level by clicking the three dots on the right side of the cards that require it.
          • Example: 
    Roles_6.png
    Giving an Employee View Only access to People means they will only have access to view other people in the system, but they will not be able to edit them. You can change the permission to Add/Update or No Access as well.
      Roles_7.png
    By default, Employees will have View Only access to just their own "people details" information. You can change that by clicking the three dots on the right hand side of the card. If you select All, the Employee will have View Only access to every person in the system. If you select "Me" that means the supervisor will only have access to view their own information.



    2. Instructions for supervisors viewing the Roles page.

    Even if an Employee is given "View/Add" permissions to the Roles page, they will not be able to make any edits, because they cannot edit their own Role (employee). An employee with permissions to "View/Add" or "View Only" for Roles will see the same Roles page: Uneditable cards showing the employee permissions for each function.

    Roles_8.jpg